Tags

, , , ,

The following is a guest blog post by my dear friend Megan from A Cry For Justice.  I am so touched by her tender concern and the tremendous amount of love that she has shown me over the past several months.  ❤

As I write this post . . . I am thinking of my precious friend, “Anew”. I have grown to love her through her blog and through her postings on A Cry For Justice. I have felt I could relate to her in thousands of ways. Whenever she posts, my heart aches. I know how it feels to struggle to keep a home warm . . . to wonder where money will be coming from in the next month . . . to live hand-to-mouth, grateful for whatever Jesus brought my way. I remember looking into the eyes of my children and seeing them trust me while I wonder if I can follow through. I remember the pressure I felt from others. I remember being afraid to complain, lest anyone say, “Well, why don’t you go back to him, then, if things are so bad?” They might as well have been sentencing me to hell. When I left my ex husband with my four children in tow and our four suitcases, I was doing the bravest thing I have ever done in my life. There were ups and downs. It was the hardest year of my life. Some people judged me harshly while others showed me mercy and helped me through the roughest times. I desperately needed someone to give me wings. People did that and, after a terrible time of wilderness, I was brought to safety.

This is the purpose of our new fundraiser, “Give Her Wings”. Jeff S, Kelley and I want to do for others what was done for me. We want to give our friend, “A New Free Life” a chance to figure out what she needs and wants to do with her life, now that she is facing raising her children on her own. We do not want her to be desperate or grasping. We want to give her a buffer and some relief from the constant anxiety.

Just so you know, I had to practically BEG Anew to let me do this on her blog. She, like most of us, hates asking for help and did not want to do ANYTHING that seems self-promoting. I twisted her arm, folks. Because I know that you all have come to love Anew and would love to do anything you can to help her.

We are launching two little fundraisers to help our friend. The first one is an online concert. The beauty of this is that you can sit in your living room, watch a fantastic live, acoustic concert and give $5 to Anew all at once. It’s a win-win! 🙂 Jeff S has kindly offered to perform his album “Steady On”, giving ALL the proceeds to Anew. Here is the link. You simply sign up and buy a ticket and then enjoy:

http://www.facebook.com/SteadyOnBand

The second fundraiser will be an online auction of Thirty One products. Don’t miss it. It is coming up toward Mother’s Day (perfect timing, eh?). Here is the Facebook link for our fundraiser and I will keep you updated:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/157307441096635/?fref=ts

Join with us in helping to love on our friend. She has blessed us all in so many ways. She deserves a chance to bloom. Love to all, Megan

